The Best Shampoo Systems for Color Treated Hair

To begin with, as I said in part one of this blog, all three Beth Minardi hair care systems are protective of color-treated hair, and actually make it even shinier and prettier. Even better, these shampooing systems distinguish between types of color treated hair and types of color processing. Permanent color is different from semi-permanent. It creates different hair issues that require different kinds of balancing to get your hair’s ph back to where it should be. Semi permanent coloring is less stable and more easily washed away, so it requires an especially gentle shampoo and enhanced color-protective properties.

Shampoo Systems for Color Treated Hair

Shampoo System #1  smells lovely and fresh and is absolutely weightless, which makes it

Minardi System Wash #1
Minardi System Wash #1

perfect for thin and fragile hair. It is so gentle it is safe for semi-permanent or demi-permanent hair color, strengthening fine hair with vegetable proteins. The sheer, weightless formula conditions hair without weighing it down, so you get shine and elasticity, without a limp or greasy feeling. Usually when you have thin hair you have to choose between conditioning and body – with this system you can have both!

Shampoo System # 2

Minardi System Wash #2
Minardi System Wash #2

is scented with the tang of fresh fruit, and is perfect for normal –to-dry hair that is colored with permanent hair dye. It gives a great balance of protein strengthening and moisturizing. This is the system I use, because although my hair is fine it is far from fragile these days. (it used to be) I do color my hair and the last thing in the world I want is for anyone to actually notice that I do. Much better that they think I have incredibly shiny and soft hair that smells really good!

Shampoo System #3 is what I use when my hair is completely stressed

Minardi System Wash #3
Minardi System Wash #3

out. It delivers the most protein and moisturizing, so that when my hair is fragile, it is protected and can start to build it’s strength. If you are using more than one process on your hair, this is the shampoo and conditioner to use.

Now, if my hair is in truly awful condition, I also use Minardi fortifying pre-wash therapy,  which is a treatment to put on hair and then leave there for a while. If your hair is very dry from too much sun and salt, or sun and chlorine, or from blow-drying your hair in desert air, or from using way too many chemicals, this is

Minardi fortifying pre-wash therapy
Minardi fortifying pre-wash therapy

the stuff to put in your hair as a treatment. I use it when the Santa Ana’s are blowing – during those weeks my hair is a struggle! The air is powder dry, I can never seem to drink enough water, and on top of it all, the sun is relentless. You can wash it out (using your favorite shampoo system) after a while and your hair will feel much, much better.

By the way, I use Hera by Derma Quest a Pure Aragan oil on my hair after I wash it and before I blow-dry – I also use Argan Oil on my face and neck and hands – the Santa Ana’s make me feel SO dry and my hair and

Hera by Derma Quest a Pure Aragan oil
Hera by Derma Quest a Pure Aragan oil

my skin feel parched. I like Hera because it also has some grapeseed oil and a sunscreen blended in, and best of all, it is scented with Bergamot! The only thing better than shiny healthy hair is shiny healthy hair that smells good!

[SFBSB]

Leave a comment